The third meeting of the Avicenna Stud Group will take place from 01 June to 13 July 2021 every Tuesday at 8am PST/11am EST/4pm GMT/5pm CEST/6pm EEST/7.30pm IRST/midnight JST.

Stay tuned for more information to follow soon.


General Information

(Poster design: https://malterohr.myportfolio.com)

The conference will reinitiate the format of the Avicenna Study Group, which after two successful meetings (2001 and 2002) and accompanying volumes (2003 and 2004) was not continued after David C. Reisman’s untimely passing.

Fourteen papers will cover different philosophical disciplines (e.g., logic, physics, psychology, metaphysics) across the eight main works of Avicenna (al-Ḥikma al-ʿArūḍiyya, ʿUyūn al-ḥikma, al-Hidāya, al-Šifāʾ, al-Naǧāt, Dānešnāme-ye ʿAlāʾī, al-Ḥikma al-mašriqiyya, al-Išārāt wa-l-tanbīhāt). Contributors will investigate and asses the relations between these eight works, their intended readership and Avicenna’s intentions in them alongside his style, terminology, and arguments as well as his personal and scientific development.

The conference is organised by Andreas Lammer, junior professor of Arabic Philosophy, Culture, and History.