Team

Julia Affolderbach

Julia joined the University of Trier to take over the research chair for Sustainable regional and urban development in February 2020. Her research focuses on economy-environment relations ranging from urban climate change policies to resource conflicts.

affolderbachuni-trierde | +49 (0)651 201-4525
Room F144

Christin Weil

Christin manages the administrative office and organizational processes in the department. She is also the contact point for students regarding programme related questions including general information, certificates or appointments.

governanceuni-trierde | +49 (0)651 201-4551
Room F176

[Translate to Englisch:] Foto der studentischen Hilfskraft

Madeleine Hill

Madeleine is studying Applied Geography (B.Sc.) at the University of Trier since 10/2019. Her focus is on physical geography. Besides her studies, she is also interested in sustainability, renewable energies and international development cooperation. Madeleine works as project coordinator for the digilego project.

mhilldigilegoeu |  +49 (0)651/201-4468  |  Room F134

[Translate to Englisch:] Foto Mitarbeiter Michael Arnold

Michael Arnold

Michael is studying Applied Geography (B.Sc.) at the University of Trier since 10/2019. His focus being on Physical Geography, he's most interested in the areas of remote sensing and urban planning. As student assistant he concerns himself with forest conflicts in British Columbia.

s6miarnouni-trierde | +49 (0)651/201-4468 | Room F134

[Translate to Englisch:] Foto Mitarbeiterin Michelle Gerhards

Michelle Gerhards

Michelle is studying at the University of Trier since 10/2018. She recieved her Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) in 11/2021 for teaching biology and geography at secondary level (Realschule +). In her bachelor's thesis she anaylzed the segregation in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia resulting from migration and urbanization processes. She is currently studying at the University of Trier for her master's degree. Since 03/2022 she assists the team as a research assistant in the field of seminar conception for the teaching profession.

s6migerhuni-trierde | +49 (0)651/201-4468  |  Room F134

 

[Translate to Englisch:] Foto Mitarbeiterin Maren Brauer

Maren Brauer

Maren graduated in 2021 with a bachelor's degree (B.Ed.) in geography and english at the University of Trier and is currently studying for her master's degree for teaching at secondary level. As a student assistant she aids with the preparations and realisation of the regional seminar.

s6mnbrauuni-trierde | +49 (0)651/201-4468 | Room F134

PhD students (co-supervisions)

Jana Busch

Jana obtained a post-graduate degree in Environmental Communication in Sweden before joining the University of Hull as a PhD student. Her doctoral research is part of the interdisciplinary ‘Evolving a Circular Plastic Economy’ project, where she is supervised by Dr. Pauline Deutz and JProf. Dr. Julia Affolderbach. In her work, she explores the role that universities can play as living laboratories, promoters and active agents developing a more sustainable economy and culture. Hereby, special focus lies on adaptations of Circular Economy practices on university campuses.

j.busch-2019hull.acuk | University of Hull, UK

Aodhan Newsholm

Aodhan is an earlier stage researcher within the EU funded innovative training network on the Circular Economy: Sustainability Implications and Guiding Progress. In his PhD research, Aodhan explores stakeholder relationships in a circular economy as well as existing and potential circularity at the regional scale using the examples of the Humber region, UK, and Styria in Austria. Aodhan is from Dublin, Ireland and has spent time studying, volunteering and working internationally in China, India and the Netherlands. He studied his bachelor degree in Business Studies, at Trinity College Dublin. He then went on to complete his MSc in International Management at Tilburg University, with his thesis focusing on the circular economy from an international corporate perspective. Throughout his studies and professional life Aodhan has been involved in a range of organisations dealing with global issues, from education to climate change.

A.Newsholmehull.acuk | University of Hull, UK

Team

Julia Affolderbach

Julia Affolderbach ist seit Februar 2020 an der Universität Trier und hat den Forschungslehrstuhl für Nachhaltige Regional- und Stadtentwicklung übernommen. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Wirtschaft-Umwelt-Beziehungen, die von urbaner Klimapolitik bis hin zu Ressourcenkonflikten reichen.

affolderbachuni-trierde | +49 (0)651 201-4525
Room F144

Christin Weil

Christin leitet das Sekretariat und die organisatorischen Abläufe in der Abteilung. Außerdem ist sie Ansprechpartnerin für Studierende bei studiengangsbezogenen Fragen, wie z.B. allgemeine Informationen, Bescheinigungen oder Termine.

governanceuni-trierde | +49 (0)651 201-4551
Room F176

Wissenschaftliche & Studentische Hilfskräfte

Foto Mitarbeiterin Madeleine Hill

Madeleine Hill

Madeleine studiert seit 10/2019 Angewandte Geographie (B.Sc.) an der Universität Trier. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf der Physischen Geographie. Neben ihrem Studium interessiert sie sich ebenfalls für Nachhaltigkeit, Erneuerbare Energien und internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Madeleine arbeitet in der Projektkoordination für das digilego Projekt.

mhilldigilegoeu |  +49 (0)651/201-4468  |  Room F134

Foto Mitarbeiter Michael Arnold

Michael Arnold

Michael studiert seit Oktober 2019 die Angewandte Geographie im Bachelor. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Physischen Geographie, hierbei interessieren ihn vor allem die Bereiche der nachhaltigen Stadtplanung und -entwicklung, sowie der Umweltbeobachtung. Als studentische Hilfskraft beschäftigt er sich momentan primär mit Forstkonflikten in British Columbia.

s6miarnouni-trierde | +49 (0)651/201-4468 | Room F134

Foto Mitarbeiterin Michelle Gerhards

Michelle Gerhards

Michelle studiert seit 10/2018 an der Universität Trier und schloss 11/2021 den Bachelor of Education für das Lehramt an Realschulen plus in den Fächern Biologie und Geographie ab. Ihre Bachelorarbeit befasste sich mit der durch Migrations- und Verstädterungsprozesse resultierenden Segregation im Königreich Saudi- Arabien. Daran anschließend studiert sie aktuell im Master of Education an der Universität Trier. Seit 03/2022 unterstützt sie das Team als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Bereich der Seminarkonzeption für das Lehramt.

s6migerhuni-trierde | +49 (0)651/201-4468  |  Room F134

 

Foto Mitarbeiterin Maren Brauer

Maren Brauer

Maren hat 2021 ihren Bachelor in Geographie und Englisch (B.Ed.) an der Universität Trier absolviert und studiert seit 2022 im Master Geographie und Englisch für Lehramt an Gymnasien. Als studentische Hilfskraft unterstützt sie Frau Affolderbach hauptsächlich bei der Vorbereitung und Ausführung des Regionalseminars.

s6mnbrauuni-trierde | +49 (0)651/201-4468 | Room F134

Promovierende (Mitbetreuungen)

Jana Busch

Jana hat einen Postgraduiertenabschluss in Umweltkommunikation in Schweden erworben, bevor sie als Doktorandin an die University of Hull kam. Ihre Doktorarbeit ist Teil des interdisziplinären Projekts "Evolving a Circular Plastic Economy", wo sie von Dr. Pauline Deutz und JProf. Dr. Julia Affolderbach betreut wird. In ihrer Arbeit erforscht sie die Rolle, die Universitäten als lebende Labore, Förderer und aktive Akteure bei der Entwicklung einer nachhaltigeren Wirtschaft und Kultur spielen können. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf der Anwendung von Praktiken der Kreislaufwirtschaft auf dem Universitätscampus.

j.busch-2019hull.acuk | Universität Hull, UK

Aodhan Newsholm

Aodhan ist ein Early-Stage-Forscher innerhalb des von der EU geförderten innovativen Ausbildungsnetzwerks zur Kreislaufwirtschaft: Sustainability Implications and Guiding Progress. In seiner Doktorarbeit untersucht Aodhan die Beziehungen zwischen den Interessengruppen in einer Kreislaufwirtschaft sowie die bestehende und potenzielle Kreislaufwirtschaft auf regionaler Ebene am Beispiel der Region Humber, Großbritannien, und der Steiermark in Österreich. Aodhan kommt aus Dublin, Irland, und verbrachte einige Zeit mit Studium, Freiwilligenarbeit und internationaler Arbeit in China, Indien und den Niederlanden. Er studierte seinen Bachelor-Abschluss in Business Studies am Trinity College Dublin. Anschließend absolvierte er seinen MSc in International Management an der Universität Tilburg, wobei er sich in seiner Abschlussarbeit auf die Kreislaufwirtschaft aus einer internationalen Unternehmensperspektive konzentrierte. Während seines Studiums und seines Berufslebens engagierte sich Aodhan in einer Reihe von Organisationen, die sich mit globalen Themen beschäftigen, von Bildung bis hin zum Klimawandel.

A.Newsholmehull.acuk | Universität Hull, UK