The tasks of the faculty board

The faculty is the basic organisational unit of the university. The department is responsible for the planning, organisation and implementation of teaching and studies including university examinations and the issuing of examination and study regulations. In the field of research, it is entitled to pass resolutions on the organisation of research operations, the coordination of research projects and the establishment of research priorities.

The department is responsible for the promotion of young academics, including the provision of positions. In addition, the department has the right to supplement its own staff in terms of scientific personnel (e.g. appointment proposals for professorships) and the allocation of staff positions and budget funds.

Important matters of the department are discussed and decided in the faculty board (FBR).

The FBR consists of nine professors, three academic staff, four students and a representative of the non-academic staff. The chairman of the FBR is the dean, who executes the decisions of the FBR and manages the affairs of the faculty in his or her own responsibility. The dean is elected from among the professors for a period of three years.

The management of the FBR is the responsibility of the departmental secretary, who assists the dean and heads the dean's office.

The dean, Prof. Dr. Thomas Udelhoven, is the chairman.


Faculty board members 2020-2022



Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Udelhoven

Vice Dean

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michael Veith


  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Antje Bruns
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Markus Casper
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Frank Thomas
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Leif Olav Mönter
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johannes B. Ries
  • JProf. Dr. Tobias Schütz
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sören Thiele-Bruhn
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michael Veith

Academic assistants

  • Dr. rer. nat. Karl Manuel Seeger
  • Dr. rer. nat. Johannes Stoffels
  • Rebekka Kanesu

Non-academic assistants

  • Rosemarie Wollscheid


  • Marvin Bock
  • Lara Feiler
  • Christopher Heine
  • Lynn Sophie Tausendfreund

Representative for gender equality

  •  Sarah Oesch

Faculty administration

  • Dr. rer. nat Christoph Müller (Fachbereichsreferent)


You can find current meeting dates on "latest news".