Departments in Faculty VI

The Faculty VI Spatial and Environmental Sciences represents a broad spectrum of geographical and bio-geoscientific departments. The individual professorships are assigned to seven different department units. All programmes in Department VI integrate several departments and department units into the curriculum, providing students with an interdisciplinary education.


Department Didactics Teaching/Learning Research

Biology and its didactics (Univ.-Prof. Dr. H. Gresch)

Geography and its didactics (Univ.-Prof. Dr. L. O. Mönter - spokesperson of the unit)


Geology and Physical-Geographic Spatial Analysis

Physical Geography (Univ.-Prof. Dr. M. Casper - spokesperson of the unit & Univ.-Prof. Dr J. Ries)

Geology (Univ.-Prof. Dr J.-F. Wagner)


Human Geographic Spatial Analysis

Leisure and Tourism Geography (Univ.-Prof. Dr. A. Kagermeier - spokesperson of the Unit)

Cultural and Regional Geography (PD Dr. N. Scharfenort)

Economic and Social Geography (N.N.)


Ecosystem Process Analysis

Biogeography (Univ.-Prof. Dr. M. Veith & JProf. Dr. H. Krehenwinkel)

Geobotany(Univ.-Prof. Dr. F. Thomas)

Environmental Toxicology (Univ.-Prof. Dr. B. Blömeke - spokesperson of the unit)

Spatial Development and Planning Processes

Sustainable Spatial Development and Governance(Univ.-Prof. Dr. A. Bruns - Speaker of the Unit)

Sustainable Regional and Location Development(JProf. Dr. J. Affolderbach)

Material Environmental Dynamics and Material Flows

Analytical and Ecological Chemistry (Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. K. Fischer)

Soil Science (Univ.-Prof. Dr. S. Thiele-Bruhn - speaker of the unit)

Hydrology (JProf. Dr. T. Schütz)


Environmental Systems Analysis and Modelling

Environmental Meteorology (Univ.-Prof. Dr. G. Heinemann - Speaker of the Unit)

Environmental Remote Sensing & Geoinformatics (Univ.-Prof. Dr. T. Udelhoven)

Geoinformatics - Spatial Data Science (formerly Cartography - Dr. A. Müller, managing)